Wednesday, 15 January 2014

What is Cost per Thousand Impressions (CPM)?


What is Cost per Thousand Impressions (CPM)?

CPM represents Cost per Thousand Impressions and is particularly used in online advertising and marketing. CPM defines the cost an advertiser will pay for 1,000 impressions of the advertisement, such as a your ad or other promotion.

An impression is counted each time an advertisement is revealed.

How do you get paid in CPM?

While some advertisers pay publishers what can based strictly on impressions, most advertisers pay with regard to individual clicks or leads generated using their company advertisements.

Therefore, in Web advertising, it may be more potent to measure Pay per Click (PPC) or pay per lead (PPL) rates. No matter what, the advertiser’s goal is to generate as many leads as it can be by keeping the rates as little as possible.

CPM pays the affiliate for putting a banner over a high traffic page. The affiliate is paid a selected amount every thousand impressions he directs for the link.

This means the referrer has been paid for driving a volume of traffic to the merchant’s site, not necessarily for sales.

These programs are the best way to get your foot inside door with referrers, but are a less reliable income source.

The purpose of the CPM metric is always to compare costs of advertising campaigns within and across various media. A typical advertising might try to reach potential consumers in several locations and through different media.

The cost per thousand impressions (CPM) metric enables marketers for making cost comparisons between these media, both at the planning stage and during reviews of past campaigns.

How to Calculate CPM?

Marketers calculate CPM by dividing marketing costs by how many impressions (or opportunities-to-see) which are delivered by each part of the main campaign.

Thus, CPM is the expense of a media campaign, relative to its success in generating impressions to view. As the impression counts are likely to be sizeable, marketers customarily use the CPM impressions. Dividing by 1,000 is surely an industry standard.

Cost every Thousand Impressions (CPM) ($) = Marketing Cost ($) / Images Generated (# in Thousands)

For instance:

Total cost for working the ad is $15,000. The total estimated audience is only 2,400,000 people.

CPM can be calculated as: ($15,000/2,400,000)*1000 = $6.20 per thousand views.

In web marketing, if a website sells banner ads for just a $20 CPM that signifies it costs $20 to show the banner on 1000 page views.

CPM advertising is accomplished mostly by large corporations who have professionals who know how to fully optimize ad campaigns and reap the main benefit of cost per impression advertising and marketing.

If you’re doing placement targeted advertising it is imperative to ensure that your ad is over the fold.

Advantages of Cost per Thousand Impressions CPM to the Merchants

  • The style of campaign called CPM pertains to choosing and targeting a demographic similar to PPC campaigns, but in this case you are billed for every single impression instead of being billed simply for clicks.
  • Impression-based campaigns are generally very cheap; in several cases, you can have the ad seen thousands of times cheaper than a dollar.
  • You can usually monitor the statistics including click through rate (CTR) along with make any budgetary improvements as necessary – before massive degrees of money have been spent.
  • Impression-based campaigns are suited to those on a budget.
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